It is accessed via a downhill path, with steps, which originates at the end of Via Sopre le Mura.
After a few steps you reach the Door of Marina Grande which preserves, despite subsequent renovations, its Greek characteristics and is dated around the fourth century BC It is from here that the Turkish pirates who ransacked Sorrento in 1558 entered.
Beyond the door is the typical fishing village with its fusion of Moorish style with the more strictly local, creating a bizarre and picturesque architectural form, such as houses built in tufaceous stone and still inhabited. Here stands the church of St. Anne, patron of the village, built in the late seventeenth century and later enlarged.
On this beach, as if in an open air shipyard, were built the famous gozzi sorrentini (Sorrento fishing boats) a typical wooden boat with one sail, from 6 to 12 meters long, manageable and reliable, virtually unsinkable. The mastery of the craftsmen was such that the boats were adopted by fishermen throughout the Gulf of Naples and the islands. Heirs of this tradition are todays motor fishing boats which are still built today in Sorrento and its surrounding areas.